NIAMRRE News and Events

 View Only

Thank You Advisors and Welcome to the New Chair and Vice Chair!

By Erica Baker posted 08-03-2023 05:00 AM


Each NIAMRRE member organization appoints an advisor to serve on our Advisory Council. This council provides input and advice on the institute’s strategic planning, serves as the primary liaison between member organizations and the NIAMRRE Operations Center, and provides subject matter expertise necessary to drive the efforts of the NIAMRRE mission. July 1 marked the start of the third year of the Advisory Council, and I would like to take this opportunity to thank the advisors who served in 2022-2023, thank our previous council chairs, and welcome our new chair and vice chair.

I cannot thank our advisors from the last year enough for all their advice, feedback, expertise, and support! You all have helped shape and grow NIAMRRE over the last year. Please check out the list of the 2022-2023 advisors at the end of the blog.

The Advisory Council is led by a chair and vice chair. The council votes to elect a new vice chair in the spring who will serve in that capacity for the upcoming council year (July – June), then move up to chair the following year, and finally serve as co-chair of the Annual Conference Planning Committee and host of the conference in the year after they serve as chair. Over the past three years we have had phenomenal leadership of the Advisory Council through our chairs, and I personally have truly enjoyed working with each of them. A huge thank you to our previous chairs Rodney Moxley, Daniel Czyz, and Thomas Wittum!

I am excited to announce that the 2023-2024 Advisory Council chair is Jennifer Halleran, North Carolina State University, and vice chair is Michelle Kromm, Food Forward and Hormel Foods. I am looking forward to working with both of you to lead the council over this next year!

Everyone please join me in thanking our previous Advisory Council chairs and the 2022-2023 advisors, as well as welcoming our new chair and vice chair!

  • Stephanie Adams, Center for Global Health Innovation
  • John Barlow, University of Vermont
  • Ian Battersby, Mars
  • Chris Belnap, Resilient Biotics
  • Chris Bomgaars, EveryPig
  • Casey Bradley, The Sunswine Group
  • Daniel Czyz, University of Florida
  • Robert Donofrio, Neogen
  • Eve Fabrizio, PERSOWN
  • Jennifer Filbey, Mazen Animal Health
  • Heather Fowler, National Pork Board
  • Erika Ganda, Penn State University
  • Krista Gens, Society of Infectious Diseases Pharmacists
  • Luis Gimenez-Lirola, Innoceleris
  • Jennifer Halleran, North Carolina State University
  • Nancy Hanson, Creighton University
  • Joel Harris, Genvax Technologies
  • Qun Treen Huo, Nano Discovery Inc.
  • Jessica Hyland, Iowa Biotechnology Association
  • J.J. Jones, National Institute for Animal Agriculture
  • Martha King, Farm Foundation
  • Michelle Kromm, Food Forward and Hormel Foods
  • Terry Lehenbauer, UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
  • Ivan Liachko, Phase Genomics
  • Catherine Logue, University of Georgia
  • James McNamara, Nuclease Probe Technologies
  • Rodney Moxley, University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Rachel Munds, Krishi Inc.
  • Eunice Ndegwa, Virginia State University
  • Rob Owen, Bio Nebraska
  • Lucas Pantaleon, Ogena Solutions
  • Gil Patterson, VetNOW
  • Michael Pentella, State Hygienic Lab at the University of Iowa
  • Christine Petersen, University of Iowa
  • Andy Plum, IDEXX
  • James Reecy, Iowa State University
  • Juliana Ruzante, RTI International
  • Will Sander, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Howard Urnovitz, FBB Biomed
  • Jolieke van Oosterwijk, US Biologic, Inc.
  • Justin Welsh, Merck Animal Health
  • Thomas Wittum, The Ohio State University